//NCNW State Coalition to Host March 21 Event

NCNW State Coalition to Host March 21 Event

Share with friends

ATLANTA, Ga.— The State Coalition of Georgia NCNW, Inc. is hosting its statewide, Bethune Height Recognition Day Party on Saturday, March 21st.  From 3-7 pm at the Historic Academy of Medicine at Georgia Tech, located at 875 West Peachtree Street in Atlanta.

Members throughout the state, affiliates, supporters and volunteers are invited to support this initiative which supports the efforts and mission of the national headquarters. The State Coalition of Georgia, NCNW currently has 11 active collegiate sections including Kennesaw State, Spelman, University of Georgia, Valdosta State, Savannah State, University of West Georgia, Mercer (Macon), Clarke Atlanta, Georgia Southern, Georgia State University and Fort Valley State University.

Community-based sections include: DeKalb, Valdosta-Lowndes, Greater Atlanta, Rockdale-Newton, Henry-Clayton, Savannah, Columbus, Gwinnett and the North Fulton Area sections.  Under the current state leadership of State President and National Young Adult Vice Chair of NCNW, Sharah Denton, the state is currently growing from collegiate level to community-based level.

The state initiative is one that historically, recognizes leaders who exhibit the Mary McLeod Bethune and Dorothy Irene Height inspired leadership, community service and activitism.  National officers will be in attendance and participants can purchase tickets online at: georgiancnw.org or contact their local section’s for a ticket. 

This event will have live music, recognition’s, food and fun.  Supporters may purchase “at-home” tickets to support the cause and the ticket prices varies from collegiate level to community-based level.  Legacy life, Life Members and Bethune Achievers will be recognized at the BHRP event and will have to submit their level of membership to their perspective section which will then report to the state coalition for recognition.

For more information contact your local section in your community or georgiancnw@gmail..com.  The state Co-Chairs for the event are Dr. Janea Johnson (DeKalb), Kim Akins (Henry-Clayton) and Kimberly Underdue (Greater Atlanta).