VSU Releases Preseason Football Schedule

| July 19, 2016

football-resized

VALDOSTA, Ga. – With less than 50 days until the season opener on September 3rd against Albany State, the Valdosta State football team has issued its preseason camp schedule and is set to report on August 6th.

The members of the Valdosta State football team will be issued equipment and paperwork upon their initial arrival to the Athletic Fieldhouse, and a series of meetings on Saturday and Sunday will serve as a prequel to the squad’s first field practice at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, August 8th. The opening week continues with another helmets-only session at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, before the team takes the field at the same time on Wednesday morning for an upgraded shells practice.

The initial series of shells sessions continue on Thursday at 8:30 a.m. before the team suits up in full pads for Friday’s 8:30 a.m. practice.

Other notable preseason events include a scrimmage open to VSU Faculty and Staff on August 20th at 8:00 a.m. at the Athletic Fieldhouse, along with a second scrimmage and the program’s annual Meet the Blazers event on Saturday August 27th. The special scrimmage prior to the Meet the Blazers event will begin at 8:00 a.m. at Bazemore-Hyder Stadium, and Meet the Blazers will follow at at 9:30 a.m. Meet the Blazers is a free event designed for the area youth, who will have an opportunity to play games with and score autographs from the entire Blazer football team and coaching staff. Registration is scheduled for 8:30 a.m. at the stadium.

TO THE MEDIA: All Valdosta State practices are open to the media, unless otherwise noted by the coaching staff. The Sports Information Office will assist in setting up interviews with requested players and/or coaches at the conclusion of each practice. For better service, please let the Sports Information Office know in advance when you will attend practice.

2016 VALDOSTA STATE PRACTICE SCHEDULE
Monday, August 8 – 8:30 a.m.
Tuesday, August 9 – 8:30 a.m.
Wednesday, August 10 – 8:30 a.m.
Thursday, August 11 – 8:30 a.m.
Friday, August 12 – 8:30 a.m.
Saturday, August 13 – Two practices scheduled for 8:30 a.m. and again at 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 14 – 3:45 p.m.
Monday, August 15 – 7:45 p.m.
Tuesday, August 16 – 7:45 p.m.
Wednesday, August 17 – 7:45 p.m.
Thursday, August 18 – 7:45 p.m.
Friday, August 19 – 7:45 p.m.
Saturday, August 20 – Scrimmage Game at Athletic Fieldhouse at 9:00 a.m. (Open only to Staff/Faculty and their families)

Sunday, August 21 – OFF
Monday, August 22 – 7:45 p.m.
Tuesday, August 23 – 7:45 p.m.
Wednesday, August 24 – 7:45 p.m.
Thursday, August 25 – 7:45 p.m.
Friday, August 26 – TBA
Saturday, August 27 – Scrimmage Game and Meet the Blazers beginning at 8:00 a.m. at Bazemore-Hyder Stadium

Tuesday, August 30 – 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 31 – 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Chris Rogers Earns All-America Scholar Honor
Registration Open for Fall Blazer Baseball Academy
Filed in: Sports
×

Comments are closed.