Wiregrass Pharmacy Students Pass Certification Exam

| June 9, 2016

wtc pharmacy

VALDOSTA – Wiregrass Technical College President Dr. Tina K. Anderson is pleased to announce that recent graduates of the Pharmacy Technology degree program had 100% of the class pass the National Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam.

Students were tested in the following areas: Medication Order Entry and Fill Process, Medication Safety, Pharmacology for Technicians, Pharmacy Billing and Reimbursement, Pharmacy Information System Usage and Application, Pharmacy Inventory Application, Pharmacy Law and Regulations, Pharmacy Quality Assurance, and Sterile and Non Sterile Compounding.  Wiregrass students exceeded the national average in every category. The students are Alisha Smith, Nehal Patel, Delois Jenkins, Kimberly Infinger, Taylor Thompson, Amanda Caesar, and Stephanie Cox.  Frank Barnett is the Pharmacy Technology Program Coordinator.

The Pharmacy Technology Diploma program conducted by Wiregrass Technical College is accredited by ACPE (Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education) and ASHP (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists).  New students are being accepted for Fall Semester with classes begin in August 22.  This program qualifies for the Strategic Industries Workforce Development Grant (SIWDG).  The grant recognizes specific industries where skilled and educated workers are in high demand in Georgia.  Wiregrass currently has 28 programs that qualify for the SIWDG. Students who are eligible for the HOPE grant may qualify for additional grants that could cover all of their tuition and fees. Anyone interested in this program or any program can visit the Wiregrass campus on June 23 for Free Application Day and have their application fee waived.  For more information about the Pharmacy program or to see a complete list of the 28 programs that qualify for the SIWDG, visit www.wiregrass.edu or call 229-333-2100.

Pictured: (WTC pharmacy students) l-r is Wiregrass President Dr. Tina Anderson, Alisha Smith (Lowndes County), Nehal Patel (Lowndes County), Delois Jenkins (Lowndes County), Kimberly Infinger (Clinch County), Taylor Thompson (Brooks County), Amanda Caesar (Lowndes County), Stephanie Cox (Lanier County), Frank Barnett Wiregrass Pharmacy Technology Program Coordinator.

VCS employees awarded literacy grants from Kiwanis Club of Valdosta
VHS Senior Selected to 2016 Henry Clay Center for Statesmanship National Student Congress

Comments are closed.