Tommy Thomas Announced as National College Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee

| March 31, 2016

Tommy Thomas
VALDOSTA – In recognition of a legendary career that spanned 40 years as the head coach of the Valdosta State baseball program, Tommy Thomas was announced on Thursday as a member of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame’s 11th induction class.

Thomas represents one of seven selections that make up this year’s honorees, each of which will be officially inducted as a part of the annual Night of Champions celebration of college baseball on July 1st and 2nd in Lubbock, Texas. Other honorees include Tom Paciorek, Rick Monday, Augie Garrido, Matt Desalvo, Robert Braddy, and Valdosta native JD Drew, who posted a stellar career at Florida State from 1995-97.

“We are excited to induct this class,” said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. “It is remarkable that this is our 11th induction class and they are this accomplished.”

The storied career of coach Thomas came to its conclusion in 2007, when he finished his time at the helm of Blazer baseball with 1,308 victories. The impressive number earned him the title of NCAA Division II baseball’s winningest coach and placed him 16th among all NCAA coaches.

During his tenure, which included 25 years as a member of the GSC, Thomas led Valdosta State to two GSC Championships and a 1979 National Championship. He ranks third all-time in the conference record books with 759 league wins, and in 2006, he was voted to the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

“I want to thank our voting committee of over 200 strong for their time and effort in choosing this class,” Gustafson added. “They represent so much history as college baseball media members, active and former coaches, retired umpires, past inductees, college baseball historians and, in several cases they are also former players, and their experiences and knowledge are reflected in this class.”

With his induction, Thomas joins a remarkable list of names to be inducted throughout the last ten years. Notable inductees in years past include Lou Gherig, Will Clark, Joe Carter, Jim Abbott, Jackie Robinson, and Lou Brock.

For more information about the National College Baseball Hall of Fame or to purchase tickets to the 2016 induction ceremony, visit or contact Mike Gustafson at

Sunday Sweep Caps off Perfect Weekend for VSU Baseball
Offense Powers VSU Baseball to 20-5 Win Over GSW
Filed in: Sports

Comments are closed.