Deal Names Child Welfare Reform Council Members

| April 3, 2014

Governor-Nathan-Deal ATLANTA, GA – Gov. Nathan Deal today named the list of those who will serve on the Child Welfare Reform Council, which was recently created to improve our child welfare system and better protect Georgia’s most vulnerable citizens.

“With this council now in place, it is our hope to uncover new approaches that will strengthen our child welfare system and ensure that Georgia’s children are given the best shot at a good life,” Deal said. “These appointees have dedicated themselves to improving the lives of children, and I feel confident that together they will produce meaningful and thoughtful reform recommendations.”

The council will convene throughout the remainder of this year to complete a comprehensive review of the Division of Family and Children Services and advise the governor on possible executive agency reforms and legislative fixes if necessary. Stephanie Blank will chair the council and will work in conjunction with the Governor’s Office and the Department of Human Services.

Council members are listed below:

Name Title Organization City
Ashley Willcott Executive Director Office of the Child Advocate Dunwoody
Judge Steve Teske Chief Judge Juvenile Court of Clayton County Jonesboro
Judge Peggy Walker Juvenile Court Judge Juvenile Court of Douglas County Douglasville
Melissa Carter Director Barton Child Law and Policy Center Decatur
Donna Hyland President and CEO Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta Atlanta
Dr. Cheryl Dozier President Savannah State University Savannah
Meredith Ramaley Detective Smyrna Police Department Smyrna
Heather Rowles Executive Director Multi-Agency Alliance for Children(MAAC) Atlanta
Tyra Walker WinShape Homes Director Chick-fil-a, Inc Jonesboro
Crystal Williams Founding Member EmpowerMEnt & Former Foster Youth Atlanta
Lamar Burkett Foster Parent & Advocate Moultrie
Bob Bruder-Mattson Chief Executive Officer The United Methodist Children’s Home Roswell
Valerie Condit School Social Worker Fulton County Schools Atlanta
Duaine Hathaway Executive Director Georgia CASA Newnan
Carolyn Hugley State Representative Georgia General Assembly Columbus
Valerie Clark State Representative Georgia General Assembly Lawrenceville
Wendell Willard State Representative Georgia General Assembly Sandy Springs
Freddie Powell Sims State Senator Georgia General Assembly Albany
Burt Jones State Senator Georgia General Assembly Jackson
Fran Millar State Senator Georgia General Assembly Dunwoody 

Source: Governor’s Office of Georgia

Lowney Recognized Nationally for Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Scholarly Activities
Free Oral Cancer Screening

About the Author:

Filed in: News, Regional News

Comments are closed.