Texting While Driving Ban Passes In FL

| May 3, 2013

car accidentWith only one lone ‘no’ vote, the Florida Senate on Thursday passed a texting while driving ban. The state House approved the bill earlier this week, but added a provision that sent it back to the upper chamber. Under the law, police can only use drivers’ mobile phone records against them  when texting causes a crash resulting in death or personal injury.

The only Senator voting ‘no’ was Joe Negron of Stuart, who claimed that texting while driving ‘should be cited under the state’s existing careless driving laws’ and claimed the ban was essentially unforceable.

A first violation is a $30 fine plus court costs. A second or subsequent violation within five years adds three points to the driver’s license and is a $60 fine.

Read more at Jacksonville.com here.

Blueberry Crop Slowed By Wet, Inconsistent Weather
Georgia Child Care Workers to Face More Background Checks

About the Author:

Filed in: Regional News
×

Comments are closed.